Leftover Love: Broccoli

I like broccoli.

Sometimes a hunk of teriyaki salmon, a tree of broccoli and some curried rice is just what I need at the end of the day.

Broccoli slaw, I can’t get enough of. I even like that weird salad with the broccoli, raisins and crumbled bacon.

But I’ve been cursed with a child who can’t abide the broc, at least not cooked. What’s a mom to do? When they reach a certain age, there’s no more pitting your will against theirs, because it’s a disturbingly even match.

I used to encounter the same resistance over cauliflower. But then I roasted the little white florets and doused them in buffalo wing sauce. This experiment met with great success, and I’m even asked to include it on our dinner menus. I’m also warned that sneaking pureed cauliflower into mashed potatoes isn’t fooling anyone, and can I please wait until they leave for college before trying that again?

I thought broccoli might benefit from roasting. Doused with some olive oil and minced garlic, roasted at high heat, then sprinkled liberally with lemon juice and freshly grated Parmesan cheese.

The author of this particular recipe wrote that she ate it like candy, couldn’t stop eating it.

I’d like to suggest that I could teach her a thing or three about eating candy. Or maybe she had those parents who made dense slabs of carob concoction and called them brownies. Maybe she’s never had real British chocolate from Cadbury, or intense dark chocolate wrapped around luscious caramel and sprinkled with sea salt.

{Momentary pause while I wipe the drool off my keyboard.}

The broccoli was fine. Good, even, although i went a little too heavy on the lemon. But Thing 2? Ate her thank you bite and then politely passed the rest of it to her father.

It did not go down like candy. Nor should it. Broccoli, left on its own, does not have confectionary aspirations.

I understand enthusiasm. I understand that the interweebs, and places like Pinterest, are all about attracting attention to your website.

But please, stop comparing innocent vegetables to candy. You’re just aggravating those of us who love both, and confusing the people who only like one or the other.

1 Comment

Filed under Leftover Love

One response to “Leftover Love: Broccoli

  1. Now I’ll think of broccoli next time I eat candy. Thanks, Obama.

Leave a Reply

