Three Scary Women

Me. Talk to me before that first cup of tea in the morning. Very scary.

DeAnna. Writes a cool blog. Knows more about writing than anyone else I know. Her Goodreads list is always intriguing and makes me want to read most of what she’s read.

Shannon. Also writes a cool blog. She actually writes the scariest stuff I’ve ever read.

The three of us decided to make our way through a couple of lists of horror novels. The first, which I previously mentioned, is Nightmare Magazine’s Top 100 Horror Books. The second, which DeAnna found, is called The Definitive 30 Scariest Books Ever Written.

We’ll just see about that, won’t we. Because so far, some of the horror novels are not particularly scary. Which begs the question, what is the point of a horror novel if not to scare you?

The other two have listed the books off the list that they’ve already read, so I thought I’d do the same.

From the 100, I’ve already read The Exorcist, The Year’s Best Fantasy Book One, The Silence of the Lambs, 20th Century Ghosts, seven Stephen King novels, probably all three Dean Koontz novels, The Drive-In, Rosemary’s Baby, three by Lovecraft, Swan Song, The Wolf’s Hour, Interview with a Vampire, The Vampire Lestat, Frankenstien, four by Dan Simmons, The Bridge, Dracula, and six books by Peter Straub.

36 out of 100.

On the scary list, I have read Rebecca, The Exorcist, Dracula, The Handmaid’s Tale, The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo, Pet Sematary, Coraline, Slaughterhouse Five, The Silence of the Lambs and Frankenstein.

10 out of 30.

Running right around 30% for both lists.

Can’t wait to make my way through the lists, see what I think, see what the other two think. Because they’re scarysmart, in every sense of the word.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Three Scary Women

  1. Sue

    I love scary reads! I like to be so scared that when I’m done reading, I start looking around the house for something that might jump out. It’s usually just one of the cats but I still scream anyway.

  2. I have three reactions to horror (well, four, the fourth being, “Meh”):

    –This makes me jumpy. (More movies than books.)
    –This delights me. (Usually a darker wish-fulfillment kind of story, either movies or books.)
    –This horrifies me. (This turns out to be probably mainly for stories about the erosion of a personal identity/integrity or loss of a soul, however you want to word it.)

  3. Hmm, maybe when it’s not scary, it’s meant to make you think? Thinking can be scary, you know.

Leave a Reply

