What is the Book Group Reading? (Oct. 2013-Aug. 2014)

I’m pretty excited about this year’s line up. Some stuff that sounds interesting on its own, while other titles are things I would never have read without the impetus of book group.

So, has anyone read any of these? What did you think?

October:  The Orchardist by Amanda Coplin
November:   Calling Me Home by Julie Kibler
December:   The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry by Rachel Joyce
January:   Beyond Belief: The Secret Life of Women in Extreme Religions by Susan Tive  and Cami Ostmen
February:   The Language of Flowers by Vanessa Diffenbaugh
March:   The Woman Upstairs by Claire Messud
April:   Sisterland by Curtis Sittenfeld
May:   Angle of Repose by Wallace Stegner
June:   Shanghai Girls by Lisa See
July:   When Heaven and Earth Changed Places: A Vietnamese Woman’s Journey from War to Peace by Le Ly Hayslip with Jay Wurts
August:   Orange is the New Black: My Year in a Woman’s Prison by Piper Kerman

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “What is the Book Group Reading? (Oct. 2013-Aug. 2014)

  1. Sharon

    I’m currently reading The Woman Upstairs, about 1/5 of the way in, and it’s intriguing. (The Women’s Studies teacher, a colleague in the high school where I teach, lent it to me.) I wish I could be part of your group to discuss it 😦 I read When Heaven and Earth Changed Places in 1990, while I was pregnant with my second child.The book helped me through the labor of that birth, because I compared my comfortable childbirth experience to what the author went through in Vietnam and decided I had nothing to complain about! I watched the film many years later and thought it was fairly well done.

  2. Susan Mc

    I recently read The Language of Flowers and LOVED it. One I’ll read again. For myriad reasons. The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry was just added to the stack of “read next.” The reviews have been so great!

  3. Kedryn Evans

    I was looking at your book list to see if I would like to read the next book for December and ironically I just finished The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry a couple of weeks ago. Loved it! Very interesting read.

Leave a Reply

