Whirling Dervish

And it only took me three tries to spell “dervish” correctly.

To my friends and family: it’s Conference week.

I love you all. But I will be unable to respond coherently to anything not involving Conference until Monday, April 23rd. You know I only have a tangential relationship with coherence on the best of days, but seriously. This week? Not even going to pretend.

Why do I get so involved if it’s such a chore? Because I absolutely love it. This isn’t a heinous responsibility, it’s a labor of love. Yes, I’ll be busy, but I’ll be with writers. My people. Fascinating, smart, funny people who know obscure facts like how many dead bodies will fit in a Volvo’s trunk, the best sniper rifle for assassins, how to get yeast bread to rise properly at altitude, where to find a replacement stove for the 1960 model in my kitchen, and so much more.

Then there are the agents and editors, the people who live and breathe this industry every single day because they’re the same flavor of crazy as the writers.

So I’m still alive, have big blogging plans, but don’t worry about me if you don’t hear from me for a few days. I may be buried, but rest assured, I’m happily so.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Whirling Dervish

  1. I’m so excited to see you next weekend! Family. Friends…how needs them?

    Love ya, Julie

  2. Nancy Skeldon (Big Sis)

    Well Julie….her family does need her but, we also understand that she absolutely loves the Writers Conference so we understand. Thankfully she lets us know ahead of time so we don’t worry that she’s fallen off the face of the earth or ran off with the gypsy’s……we love her that way…. Enjoy your week sis…..love you bunches….

  3. Sue

    Have fun! OK, that was stupid. Of course you’ll have fun. And you will be missed.

Leave a Reply

